The week of the 925, 928 and YouTube Apps

My Appearence on The Phones Show

When I first got interested in Smartphones, one of the best resources I had for information was The Phones Show hosted by Steve Litchfield (Find his website here) which reviews mobile phones, does a quarterly Top 5 Best Phones list as well as other phone related pieces.

Well, Steve reached his 200th episode of the Phones Show, and as a celebration had asked his viewers to submit a 30 second video clip consisting of a congratulatory message. Well, I submitted one, and it made the cut. The video is below, it starts with an 11 minute review of The Samsung Galaxy S4, which is followed by the viewers submissions. I appear at more or less bang on the 13 minute mark.

YouTube-windows-phone

Google, Microsoft, YouTube,

If like me you are a Windows Phone user, you may be aware that Microsoft updated the platforms official YouTube client a week or so ago. The update brings a lot of improvements to what was just a wrapper for the mobile website, and now features swiping left and right for additional options, and even the ability to download videos for offline viewing. Then, barely a week after the update is pushed out to users Google issue MicroSoft with a Cease and Desist, demanding that the app is removed from the Windows Phone Store within 7 days (Read about it here). The problem (beside Google hating MicroSoft)? Well apparently the new app blocks ads, which deprives YouTube and the content creators revenue. Now, I could understand this, if Google where issuing the same Cease and Desist letters to all the other developers of the countless 3rd party YouTube apps across different platforms which do exactly the same thing. Also, ads don’t come through on the mobile website either, which is what most will use as an alternative.
If you ask me Google are just being spiteful. Now I’m not saying that they don’t have good reason to be for things which went on in the past, but as with then, the only people who really lose out are the consumers. Personally I prefer MetroTube and MyTube on Windows Phone, as these allow you to watch the streams in HD. UPDATE: There is a setting on the official YouTube app to stream videos in HD.

Announcements and Stuff

In the last week or so we have seen a few press events, one coming from Nokia in London on the 14th May where they announced the Nokia Lumia 925, a slimmed down version of the 920 with very similar specs. The screen is still 4.5 inches with a resolution of 768×1280, but now has an AMOLED ( Active Matrix Organic light emitting diode) screen. Now I am a big fan of the screen found on the 920, but one thing I miss from my time with the N8, N9, Lumia 800 and 900 is the beautiful colours and deep deep blacks produced by an AMOLOED screen. Just before that, on the Sunday before in fact, Nokia quietly launched the Nokia Lumia 928, exclusive to Verizon Wireless in the USA. If you want to know more about these devices, have a look at these links; Here for the Nokia Lumia 925 and Here for the Nokia Lumia 928
And of course, how could we forget the Google I/O conference? Well, I didn’t forget, just don’t care. Sorry, Android isn’t for me. Or at least has never appealed to me so far, and until it does, I don’t have much to say on the matter. Oh, I don’t know. Something about a new Nexus Tablet. How’s that?

Well I’m hoping to get a post like this out about once a week, more if possible, so find the Follow(+) button somewhere on this page to keep up with the latest posts from me. Will be back soon.

Leave a Reply

