Reunited with My Nokia N8. Two Cameras Compared.

I recently got back my Nokia N8 which I haven’t seen or used for well over a year. It was nice to be able to try out the camera again, and I decided to do a comparison with my current phone the Nokia Lumia 920, and see how the pictures they produce compare.

N8 outdoor scene, camera set on Auto

N8 outdoor scene, camera set on Auto

Lumia 920 outdoor shoot, also set on Auto

Lumia 920 outdoor shoot, also set on Auto

Close up comparison of the gnomes in the shot.

Close up comparison of the gnomes in the shot, Lumia 920 on the left N8 on the right.

Close up shot taken on the on the N8, but better performance would have been achieved with setting on Macro.. It was set to Aut

Close up shot taken on the on the N8, it was set to Auto but better performance would have been achieved with setting on Macro..

Close up shot taken on Lumia 920. Again, set to Auto, but wouold have been better setting it to Close Up

Close up shot taken on Lumia 920. Again, set to Auto, but would have been better setting it to Close Up

A comparison of the two shots.

A comparison of the two shots. Lumia 920 on the left N8 on the right

Just from these pictures I draw the conclusion that when set to Auto, the Lumia 920 produces better, clearer pictures than the N8, I believe this is due to the 920 having Optical Image Stabilization (OIS). When the flash is switched on however, the N8 and its Xenon flash really produce fine, crystal clear images. Look at the shots below, taken indoors under a pretty dim bulb.

Taken on the N8 using Flash.

Taken on the N8 using Flash.

Taken on the Lumia 920 with its dual LED flash.

Taken on the Lumia 920 with its dual LED flash.

The shot looks more colourful on the Lumia 920 but when you see look close up at the fabric on the mice, detail is perfect on the N8, while the Lumia 920 can’t quite produce as real a picture.

When the same shot is taken without the flash though, the N8 struggles, and the picture comes out blurred. I believe due to the OIS in the 920, and possibly because of its lower F number.

Taken on the N8 without flash.

Taken on the N8 without flash.

Taken on the Lumia 920 without flash. Really good low light performance, in my opinion.

Taken on the Lumia 920 without flash. Really good low light performance, in my opinion.

I must point out I am no expert on Phone camera technology, and could have made some errors when trying to get technical. If I have made a blunder, please let me know in the comments below. I would also like to hear everyones opinion on the shots taken.

You can also follow me on Twitter, my username is @chriswwwright click here and follow me.

Thanks for reading, hope you have found it interesting.

Comments
11 Responses to “Reunited with My Nokia N8. Two Cameras Compared.”
  1. jack says:

    well done chris w.

  2. samsung says:

    What’s up everyone, it’s my first pay a quick visit at
    this website, and post is in fact fruitful for me, keep up posting these articles.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] pogledajte na izvornom članku gdje možete vidjeti i ostatak usporednih […]

  2. […] all, hope you are all well. Firstly I’d like to share my joy at finding my previous post “Reunited with My N8″ covered on the excellent Nokia fan site My Nokia Blog (Read it here). If you are not familiar […]

  3. […] quite a lot) it was great, better than the cameras I’d previously used. I actually did a comparison with the N8, which gained quite a lot of […]

  4. […] quite a lot) it was great, better than the cameras I’d previously used. I actually did a comparison with the N8, which gained quite a lot of […]



Leave a Reply

