My View of the Nokia Lumia 920 Part 2 of 2

lum920

This is the second part of my look at the Nokia Lumia 920, having owned it for about 4 weeks. Part One can be found HERE

In part One I discussed my initial thoughts about seeing and holding the 920 for the first time, and what I like about it. In this post I will go over what I find lacking on the Windows Phone device as well as my opinion on Windows Phone 8 and where it will go in the future. Just my opinion, which is no more valid than anyone else, so I would love to hear your thoughts on what I write as well as your own views about the 920 and Windows Phone.

What Didn’t Impress Me.

I will start this section by saying that overall the Lumia 920 has an awful lot going for it. However, I believe you’ll be hard pushed to find a smartphone which is perfect for everyone.
The Lumia 920 has some bugs, which can likely be found across the Windows Phone 8 platform. The ones which affect my 920 is brightness. When you unlock the screen, particularly in sun light, the screen can appear washed out. This isn’t anything major, in fact just locking and unlocking the screen will solve it. Another issue I have found is music playback volume. Sometimes, for no apparent reason when you play a music track little to no sound can be heard, switch to a video and the volume is fine, go back to music track and near silence, regardless of how high you have toggled the volume. I have found the only way to get songs playing at an audible level is to switch the device off and then on again. I believe bugs such as the two I have mentioned can be explained by the fact that Windows Phone 8 has only been out less than 5 months. Of course 7.5 came before it, but this has been labeled as a completely different operating system, hence the lack of up grade for legacy devices.

What else can I add to this section, of Lumia 920 features which didn’t impress me. I am fairly hard pushed to find many faults. For some, they might list their favourite app missing, but remember I am coming from 10 months using the N9, by comparison Windows Phone seems full of  the latest apps. I have found the battery life to be good, perhaps this is because I have switched off nearly all the background apps. I could mention the fact that multitasking is handled by a method I heard being called “Tomb stoning” where open apps are frozen in time once you return to the home screen, rather than running in the background, but I haven’t found this too bothersome if I’m honest. One thing I’d definitely be mentioning, if it hadn’t been fixed with the Portico update, would be WIFI switching off when the screen is locked, but that is no longer an issue.

So what am I left with? OK, this is something I have heard is rumoured to be coming to Windows Phone 8, and being an N9 user I do find the lack of a Notification screen a real pain. The Live Tiles do a good job of informing you when you have a new email or someone has mentioned you on Twitter, but to have the ability to swipe the home screen to the right and have a list of tweets, Facebook mentions missed calls, texts etc in a neat list, which the N9 did so well is something I miss. To be honest, this is something I found harder to live with when I first started using the 920, and would often find I missed mentions on Twitter but with time I have got used to checking Me tile for interactions on social networks.

Where Will Windows Phone Go From Here

It’s an interesting question, what will we see happen to the Windows Phone 8 platform. There are opinions that feel Microsoft are developing the platform too slowly, and that handset sales and market share is not picking up traction quick enough to be competitive against the likes of IOS, Android and now BlackBerry10, but that isn’t an opinion I share, not completely, anyway. As I said earlier, Windows Phone 8 is a fairly young platform. OEMs such as Nokia and HTC have been producing hardware the like of which was not seen on WP7, also Windows Phone 8 has now gone into China, again something not seen on WP7, and that is a Market with a larger user base than any other country.

I have also been impressed with what is being described as “Low End” hand sets. Running on Dual Core processors, and enough RAM to handle all the apps in the store (unlike low end WP7 models). WP8 now also supports Micro SD cards and NFC. Windows 8 (the tablet and PC platform) apps are apparently easily portable to Windows Phone 8. All in all, I believe 8 has a lot more going for it than 7.5 ever did and has a good chance of stealing market share from the big boys.

I believe over the next year, as OEMs like Nokia and HTC, not to mention more “Budget” handset makers like ZTE start bringing out more impressive hardware, the market share, or at least sales numbers will start increasing. Q4 2012 saw WP sales of about 5 million handsets, I am going to make a prediction that Q4 2013 will see sales in the region of 20 million handsets. Still not near Android who sell something like 100 million devices a quarter, or even IOS with their recent record breaking 48 million iPhone sales in one quarter (I actually think their sales will start dipping soon) but it will be progress. The most important thing for Windows Phone to survive is that Microsoft themselves stay committed. While they are maintaining interest in the platform, I believe so will Nokia, and so will the customers.

Obviously, I am no expert in this field, so I would love to hear your opinion. Please leave a comment below the article, or you can follow me on Twitter click here for my profile page.

Anyway, I hope you have enjoyed this post, you can follow this blog by pressing the + button at the top of the page.

Take care, I look forward to hearing from you, and I’ll be back soon.

PS I’m thinking of changing the name of this blog from “Wright on N9” to maybe “Wright on n9 and Lumia 920” let me know what you think.

 

Comments
5 Responses to “My View of the Nokia Lumia 920 Part 2 of 2”
  1. Shane says:

    Good write-up once again…
    Change the blog name to “Wright on Maemo/MeeGo/Sailfish, with a little WP on-the-side” 😉

  2. Shane says:

    Completely unrelated but I imagine still of interest to you…
    Jolla totally revamped their sailfishos.org site with LOTS more info*, & the SDK is now out (Linux only, OSX/Win coming very soon).

    *the original was disappointingly devoid of enough info.

    • Thanks for the info, good to know. I have looked at jolla’s website in the past, will be interesting to see what the sailfish site is like.
      As for your name suggestion… I’ll think about it! 🙂

  3. George says:

    I have a similar problem with the sound on my 920 but mine looses sound on everything. Nokias solution was a hard reboot but this is not acceptable to my thinking.
    Second problem is that having played music there is no off button, ony pause. Again.the suggested solution is to switch off and on.

    • I personally don’t have a problem with not being able to stop the music player, i find if you just pause it, after a while it seems to shut down on its own, i also do not think it uses a lot of battery to keep it paused in the background.

Leave a Reply

