My View of the Nokia Lumia 920 Part 1 of 2

I have been lucky enough to own a Nokia Lumia 920 for the last 4 weeks or so, and thought it about time I put my thoughts into words and post it to my blog.

I’ll divide my summery of up into two posts. The first will be my initial thoughts and what I liked about the device. Part 2 will cover what I wasn’t so impressed with, and my summery of the still growing Windows Phone 8 platform.

So here goes, I’ll start by saying I am very pleased with the Lumia 920. I can not say it is without any faults, but nothing which would stop me using it as my only device, or which in most cases can be ironed by a software update or two.

Prelude.

Before getting my hands on the Nokia Lumia 920 my experience with smartphones has been exclusively Nokia. In the last year I have used the Lumia 900, Lumia 800 and Lumia 710. I had been a big Symbian fan, with the Nokia N8 impressing me, but my phone of choice for 2012 without doubt has been the Nokia N9. As you have read, I am very familiar with the Lumia range, but no phone has captured my attention for as long as the N9.

Initial Thoughts

You can not read a write up about the Nokia Lumia 920 without someone mentioning the weight. I can honestly say I found very little difference between the weight of the N9 and the 920. In my opinion the Lumia is NOT a heavy phone. It weighs far less than a can of Cola, or a paper back book, and you see people carrying those items with lifting aids all the time. It may not be as light as other phones, but the difference wasn’t noticable to me.

The first time I held the Lumia 920 in my hand I was struck by how wide it felt, with a 4.5 inch screen with a 15;9 aspect ratio it is bound to be quite wide, but I have now got used to the shape of the device, and can use it one handed, though prefere having both hands on the phone when typing or dialling.920

Incidently, I had heard it said recently that the way to see if your smartphone is too big for you or not is to wrap your middle finger and  thumb around the phone and see if they can touch. If not, then your phone maybe too large for you, if you can touch middle finger and thumb, then it is not. As you can see in the photo, I can touch the fingers, and can confirm the Lumia 920 is the right size device for me.

I got the white 920, which does look really nice, the black buttons contrast really well against the glossy white. I do think the white casing looks nicer with the matte finish found on the Nokia Lumia 800 and 900, but over all the 920 is a really attractively designed device.

What I Loved About the Lumia 920

I can list a lot of things which I like about the 920, the high pixel count HD screen, the great sounding speaker, the earlier mentioned design, but I will specifically mention two things. Firstly, the camera. I think the Lumia 920’s camera has a lot going for it.  Incredible low light shots and image stabalization are two of the more advertized features. I have been really pleased with the quality of shots which the 920 produces, this is especially so since the “Portico” update, which I installed about two weeks ago. I find the daylight pictures produced by the 8.7MP camera come out looking very warm. Example below:

tommy1

Hope you like the picture of my cat, Tom. I have noticed that the pictures are not as sharp as the snaps I have taken on previous smartphones, such as the N8 and N9, but over all am really pleased with the quality of the pictures.

Anyway, next thing I want to mention is the web browser. If you are at all familiar with my previous posts, you should know that I enjoy viewing videos on my phone, either streaming from the web or preloaded, so the web browser found on the Lumia 920 was a nice experience, especially against the native browsers found on the Lumia 900 and the N9. Internet Explorer 10 seems to have increased the video formats which it will stream. For example, sites such as StageVu which would stream the AVI files very smoothly on the N9 but would refuse to play on Windows Phone 7.x will now play (most of the time) on the 920. Other than Codec support, the Lumia 920 web browser is as fast and fluid as previous versions has been, and viewing web sites is always pleasurable.

 I hope you have enjoyed the first part of My View of the Nokia Lumia 920. I will post Part 2 in the next day or two. I always publicize my posts on Twitter, so be sure to click on my profile here, and follow me so you don’t miss any future posts I make. I am always pleased to add followers and welcome comments or replies to anything I have blogged about.

Thanks for reading, if you are signed up to WordPress, you can follow my blog. Find the Plus button usually found at the top of the screen.

Comments
9 Responses to “My View of the Nokia Lumia 920 Part 1 of 2”
  1. Shane says:

    Well done, always interesting to hear a fairly hardcore N9 user’s take…
    Shame that we can’t enjoy enjoy 2nd-gen Harmattan (& then real MeeGo) successors alongside these 2nd-gen. WPs, but (alas) we’re not in a parallel universe, so WP-only will have to do.

    • Thank you. It is true, a new MeeGo Harmattan device would be amazing, but as you say, not going to happen. Jolla is a long way off yet, and while the software maybe amazing who knows what the hardware will be like.
      I never used to understand why people would say they were put off the N9 due to the fact that it would not be followed up. I now understand that point of view.

      • Shane says:

        Well Nokia dropped it waaay quicker than they initially said they would, they basically misled people, so I can’t blame people for not understanding that. Still, the amazing community has been able to keep Harmattan’s head above water, despite all the odds against it.

        “Jolla is a long way off yet, and while the software maybe amazing who knows what the hardware will be like.”

        I’ve posted about , I suspect the hw will be quite disappointing overall*, we’ll have to hope the sw will be amazing, and very hackable/flexible, & move easily between platforms.

        *there may be one or two standouts, but overall it’ll be a let-down

      • You make a good point. Thanks for commenting.

        Sent from my Windows Phone ________________________________

      • Shane says:

        Cheers.

  2. spacyzuma says:

    Nice review, Chris.

    I have the Lumia920, N9, blackberry and an android phone. I use the Lumia920 as my primary phone now, but I still have to carry another phone with is to cover it’s inadequacies. Usually, it’s my blackberry.

    I love the huge screen of the 920. It’s simply awesome. I also enjoy the camera. Better than the N9, but not as good as the N8 (which I used for 18 months).

    Things I’d love to see on wp8? A Swipe Keyboard. Grid view of the apps menu. An organized ‘Settings’ (it’s unbelievable untidy!) Popular iOS/Android games like Temple Run2. A music player that handles podcasts like on the N8. A video player app that can play mkv, flv formats…

    • Thanks for the interesting comment. You sound like you have a finger in the pie of nearly every mobile os. Out of interest, why don’t you have an iPhone, to complete the collection?
      You make some good points about improvements needed in WP8, part 2 of my “review” looks at what i think needs to happen, and your points give me some interesting things to think about for that post, coming in the next day or so.
      Do you find all you current phones lack something in the same way as the 920?

    • Shane says:

      Will have almost the same SP spread myself soon, but in the following order of pref: Android (have but getting newer one), Sailfish, BBX, WP (not Nokia), & finally one (maybe more) of the following: Ubuntu/Tizen/FFOS. iOS is of least interest, already have (older) iPads & the latest iTouch. Already own Maemo/MeeGo devices… Symbian never interested me much, used a N8 for 12mth+, found the sw (overall) to be too rigid/unexciting. But to satisfy my OCD I’ll probably end-up getting the 808PV, just so I own that book-end.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] This is the second part of my look at the Nokia Lumia 920, having owned it for about 4 weeks. Part One can be found HERE […]



Leave a Reply

