MEEGO HARMATTAN PR1.3 WHAT I EXPECT

OK, when I first got my Nokia N9, the PR1.2 update was immediately available for download, so I can’t say I fully appreciate what a difference it made to users. But, I have heard it said that the next update, PR1.3, about which very little has been written, will be as big an update as 1.2. I’m aware this brought video calling capabilities and some big improvements to the UI, but what are we to expect from the next Product Refresh.

I will make a list of some of the changes I am expecting/hoping to see.

VIDEO CODEC SUPPORTS

One complaint I have about the brilliant Nokia N9 is that it is a little fussy about which videos it will play. I dropped some 720p videos on, and got the message which is probably familiar to many “You cannot play these types of videos on this device.”

To be honest, I have got used to it, and a 16gb built in storage doesn’t allow for a lot of HD videos. So, I am happy to put 480p videos on it for now.

WEB BROWSER IMPROVEMENTS

OK, generally, I am very happy with the stock browser, and use it a lot more than FireFox Mobile or Opera Mobile, but there are a couple of issues I’d like to be fixed. Maybe text reflow, or a fix to some of that chequer boarding (which, to be honest, doesn’t bother me that much.)

Personally, I’d like to see a fix which would make YouTube videos stream faster. Sometimes I am waiting nearly a minute for a video to buffer, and sometimes it doesn’t play at all.

CPU SPEED UP

OK, I don’t think the N9 needs a faster processor, the 1Ghz A8 is plenty snappy enough, even when I have a load of apps open, but, the Symbian phones which were released with 1Ghz processors have seen an increase to 1.3ghz. Could that also come to the N9?

SKYPE VIDEO CALLS

I don’t use Skype myself, but remember reading comments about the N9 when it was released, where lots of people were asking whether or not the N9 could do Skype video calls.

LIVE WIDGETS ON LOCK SCREEN

I used to like the live home screen widgets on my Nokia N8, but must say I don’t miss them on the N9. There is no place for them on either of the 3 home screens, but have seen the odd picture of a hackers phone with stuff like weather updates on the unlock screen.

Well, whatever the next update brings, I hope it doesn’t alter things too much. Sure, some under the hood improvements would be good, but I wouldn’t want it to change the MeeGo Harmattan user interface too much, like the change from Symbian Anna to Belle did (though in that case, many felt it gave much needed functionality improvements).

Who knows how long we’ll have to wait for it, if I hear any news, I’ll post on here as soon as I can.

Please leave a comment to this post with anything you may hope to see, or expect to see in the next update.

Also, I am on Twitter, where I will publicize any blog posts, I’d love to add a few followers. View Chriswwwright on Twitter

Comments
4 Responses to “MEEGO HARMATTAN PR1.3 WHAT I EXPECT”
  1. Tales Barros says:

    Great blog, keep it up!

  2. Jamil says:

    I have n9 ,i think all the n9’s owner disappointed about poor apps wish support this phone
    i like meego and how i interact with it ,simple and cleer,but
    there r a lot of apps which we really need it ,these apps support even the old phones
    i will mention it hopping from nokia keep its reputation ,and keep its customers
    by providing these apps on n9’s store
    video call skype
    book nomber
    viber
    whatsapp supporting pic nd videos
    true caller
    in fact if these apps espatially video skype , didnot support n9 ,i will let my phone
    after the comming update pr1.3

    • I do agree with a lot of what you write, but must say I brought the N9 with the full understanding that it would not get the developer support of Nokia phones on the Windows Phone platform.
      Of course that is not to say that I don’t miss some apps which were available on Symbian.
      Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

