Nokia N9 or Lumia 800. Part 2. Advantages of Windows Phone.

In my Previous post, I looked at what, for me, made the Nokia N9 a better device than its country cousin, the Lumia 800. Now, believe me, in the two months when I was using the Lumia 800, and wishing it was the N9, I did come to appreciate many excellent features which made my decision to sell the Lumia a very difficult one.

In this list of Mango pluses, I’m not trying to look at any negatives of Meego Harmattan, however, as this is a comparative look at the good points of each smartphones, it may come across like I am being critical. Here goes;

THE KEYBOARD

Windows Phone Mango has a magnificent keyboard, which is a pleasure to use. Even on the relatively narrow 3.7 inch screen when in portrait mode. The buttons are excellently spaced apart, and miss presses seemed few and far between. Also, there are some intelligent touches added, such as, when you are typing in a URL, there is a .com button. What makes this even better, is long pressing it brings up alternatives, such as .co.uk, .net etc. All the keys seemed to have an alternative when long pressed. Another feature which makes it preferable to the very good N9 keyboard, is the spell correction. Across the top of the keyboard is a stream of alternative words which you may be meaning to write. And, if you happen to be typing an obscure word which it doesn’t recognize, at the start of the stream is what you are writing proceeded by a +, to quickly and easily add it to the dictionary.

I.E9

It is not often people are heard saying many good things about Internet Explorer, but on the Lumia 800, it is a smooth, speedy experience, which I can honestly say never once froze or crashed in the time I used it. I have mentioned before my love of online video, and while a lot of sites which stream video wouldn’t work, the ones that did, were excellent. For example, YouTube. On the N9, sometimes I will click a YT video and it will just buffer, and I will be forced to swipe down to close the browser and start again. This never happened on the Lumia. What’s more, while I’m mentioning YouTube, the picture quality on the Lumia 800 is clear as day, while the same video viewed on the N9 would appear a little more pixelated.

MARKET PLACE

I really did enjoy using the Windows Phone Market place. While it may not be as populated as the Nokia store (for Symbian at least) the apps which are available all download and install very quickly and cleanly. Another great feature is nearly all the Premium Apps have a trail version. And I’m not talking about a 10 day trail or even a month, but in most cases all the of the features would be available for as long as you can put up with adverts. Prices were all reasonable however, and upgrading to the full App is made easy with the option to pay with a bank card or put it on your monthly bill.

INTEGRATION

I have raved before about how Windows Phone 7.5 integrates many apps/features into one place very well. For example, clicking the People Hub will not only bring up your contacts phone numbers, but also their FaceBook photo albums, their latest posts and Tweets and email addresses. Clicking on Music and Video would bring up a list of entertainment related apps which you have installed, as well as recommendations of music based on the Artists you already listen to. And, of course, any songs, podcasts or videos which you have put on your device. The Me Tile contains all your Facebook albums, all your Tweets and FB post and a handy way to quickly update your facebook and Twitter status. I really do understand Nokia’s way of advertising the Lumia 900, using a slogan anout being able to buy a time machine. Using all the integrated features is a lot quicker than going from one app to another (although that is fun on the N9, I still haven’t got bored of swiping and Multitasking.)

All the above mentioned qualities of the Nokia Lumia 800, running Windows Phone Mango, make it a very good device, and as I said earlier, I found it very difficult to sell. Ultimately, what lead to me making up my mind was the lure of owning the Nokia N9. Obviously, until I had used both devices, I wouldn’t have been able to come up with lists of what I like best about both. Now I have, I can definitely say I am happy with the decision I made.

Having said that, Nokia made a decision about which device/OS they were going to use, and came up with a different conclusion. Many do not believe it was the right decision. In my next post, I will give my opinion on this, based on my experiences with both the Lumia 800 and the N9. Look out for, I will publicize it on Twitter. My handle is @Chriswwwright. Please follow me.

Leave a Reply

